I. Expired 35mm Film Project

The discovery of four rolls of expired 35mm film in an old camera bag of mine inspired me to pick up my old Pentax MZ-50 and hit the streets; excited by what the experiment might deliver.

One of the most exciting aspects of this project is having to wait for the results. I love that delicious feeling of not knowing what they’ll look like. Each roll is long since expired and, sometimes, damaged or corroded.

Sadly, not every image survives the process. The more damaged the roll, the more likely it is I’ll lose at least half of the photos. It’s part of the process though; part of the experiment. Something is better than nothing, right?

It’s worth it. It’s worth the overflowing excitement I feel the day I know my film is ready for pick-up. It’s like what Christmas morning felt like as a kid and I’ve found myself literally skipping home with the envelopes in hand; vibrating with anticipation.

The expired Kodak Gold shifted into yellows and golds, while the expired Konica shifted into reds and blues. Almost all the photos have a retro, grainy/blurry quality to them.

Here are a few of my favourites. From the roll, to you. No colour corrections.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To view the entire collection of photographs from my Expired 35mm Film Project on Flickr, click here.

