Here Be Monsters 2011

At the beginning of October I submitted some of my Earthbound Memories photos to be considered for the Monster Gallery at the Here Be Monsters Festival. It was an exercise in taking my photography more seriously; putting myself out there for people to consider. After sending the email, I promptly forgot about it as I was swallowed up by the details of life in those moments.

Well, guess what? I’ve been accepted to take part in the Monster Gallery and I’m over the moon about it. This will mark my first experience at participating in a gallery show. I feel like there are caterpillars crawling around in my stomach.

I’m honoured to have my photography curated alongside some of Vancouver’s talented artists and represented at a homegrown theatre festival like Here Be Monsters.

From the Here Be Monsters website:

The Here Be Monsters Festival features new play creation, performance and community development; as well as artist workshops, forums, mentorship, networking and opportunities for theatre artists to collaborate with artists of other disciplines.

In our 6th annual monstrous celebration of young performing and visual arts, six independent theatre companies will be put to the test to create one of a kind theatre in 48 hours in Theatre Under The Gun! As proud participants of Vancouver125, we have added a new element to the festival: Theatre in 125 hours! Three theatre companies and Theatre Under the Gun alumni will work together on a unique creation that will be performed on the of the festivities in 1 hour and 25 minutes.

Perhaps I’ll see you at the Opening Art Reception and Smorgasbord Cabaret! The festival runs from Thursday, October 27th to Sunday, October 30th at Performance Works at Granville Island. If you’ve never been to Here Be Monsters before, you should make a point of getting out this weekend to enjoy some of Vancouver’s finest one-of-a-kind theatre.

