The Next Bus to Poughkeepsie

Next Bus to Poughkeepsie

There I was, standing at the bus stop at Main and Terminal staring off into space, with something less than a smile on my face.

Out of the corner of my eye, I could see him making a beeline towards me. He walked with purpose and there was no doubt he was walking straight towards me.

I stood taller and looked straight at him and he came to stop two feet from me.

We stared at each other for a moment and then he said, with a very serious look on his face, “Can you tell me, please, when’s the next bus to Poughkeepsie?”

My face, which wore less than a smile, cracked. The Cheshire grin curled upwards towards my ears and I laughed.

He raised an eyebrow, looked deep into my eyes and said, “Excellent.”

And then he was off, walking briskly down the sidewalk.

